totalMINI
Home Forum Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Like/Follow Us here: 
Cracked Windscreen - Common Fault?
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
totalBeginner
Conkertron 88 is on a distinguished road

Icon9 Cracked Windscreen - Common Fault? - 12th July 2013, 08:33 PM

Hello, I'm new to the totalmini forum, and I have joined as I am now a proud owner of a brand new Mini Cooper Clubman! I've only owned it now for 3 weeks and it has been great! But enough of my "jibba-jabba," lets cut down to the chase!

On Tuesday (9th June 2013) whist washing the car in the morning, I noticed a crack, just to the right of the rain/light sensor unit, going horizontally down perfectly straight, then through a smooth 90 degree bend over to the left (heading towards the drivers side).

I took my car to Benham Mini Wolverhampton to get it looked at straight away, as there was no sign of impact on the glass, suggesting it's most likely to be a stress crack. I've had a look around the forum and seen a couple of similar threads, but felt this might be the best location for it?

Anyway, the rep at Mini had a look and was baffled, and his manager said get the BMW dealership to take a look. So he drove my car to BWM and they said it was chipped, and basically fobbed me off to say it's not a warranty repair. Now this left me feeling angry (as you could imagine, mainly because I can't believe that the manager at Mini couldn't rely on his own technicians opinions - but thats for another day!).

I've attached a few links to photos of the crack, which has spread over the last few days whilst waiting for Autoglass to come on tuesday for their opinion and possibly a replacement.